Thiz Poem About Sandra Bland Iz A Powerful Reminder To ‘Say Her Name’

Leave a comment

June 2, 2016 by socialaction2014

Moorbey'z Blog

“I’ve wished death on myself many times but it was never my idea.”

“They called it suicide. We called it murder. What if it was both?”

This was the question three poets posed about Sandra Bland’s death. In their poem, named after the 28-year-old black woman who authorities say they found hanging in a Texas jail cell, Kai Davis, Nayo Jones and Jasmine Combs connect the abuse black woman have faced for centuries to Bland’s death. Performing at Temple University for the 2016 College Unions Poetry Slam Invitational, the trio asked if the physical, mental and emotional abuse she faced was too much for her to overcome.

“I know what it is to be crushed. To have hope drained from my bones, a trembling black woman with trauma stretching across generations. I’ve been crying for centuries. I cannot stop. I know what it’s like to have one foot in the grave…

View original post 153 more words

Leave a Reply

