I Am an Inmate at the Prison That Obama Just Visited and This Is My Hope

Leave a comment

July 20, 2015 by socialaction2014

TIME

I was very excited when I heard that President Barack Obama was coming to visit the federal prison in El Reno, Okla, where I am an inmate. To be honest, I would have been excited to hear the president was visiting any of the prisons within the Federal Bureau of Prisons. He’s demonstrating his focus and commitment to working diligently to create real change within the criminal justice system. I love that he is moving forward with his clemency project to commute sentences for nonviolent criminals. I’m even more excited by his call to Congress to substantially change the system. He’s making history, and I’m glad to be a part of it.

I agree with what President Obama said this week—”America is a nation of second chances.” I look forward to having mine one day. I am currently serving a life sentence for a non-violent drug offense. I was a…

View original post 345 more words

Leave a Reply

